Browse all articles

Thank You, Common Sense Ambassadors!

It's been a great first year. Here's what happened.

Steve Garton | August 29, 2016

The Common Sense Ambassador Program was created to elevate and cultivate a community of our Certified Educators as speakers, presenters, and overall ambassadors for Common Sense Education. We want to support top educators in the field who are furthering our mission to help students harness the potential of technology for learning and life. For the first year of the program, we were looking for Certified Educators who were:

  • Passionate about teaching with technology and digital citizenship
  • Enthusiastic about sharing knowledge with others
  • Comfortable and experienced speaking to and engaging with an audience
  • Interested in amplifying the mission of Common Sense Education
  • Willing to work in partnership with us to improve the educational climate

We launched the program in September of 2015 with 76 ambassadors. This superstar group consisted of 48 percent classroom teachers, 50 percent technology and resource personnel, and 2 percent administrators.

Many of these ambassadors presented at conferences, to their staffs, or in their districts. Ambassadors made a total of 97 presentations throughout the 2015–2016 school year, reaching 5,101 educators across the country. Wow!

We would like to publicly say thank you to each ambassador for making this first year a huge success. A special shout-out goes to our top three ambassadors who went above and beyond, presenting multiple times:

picture of michael gannon

Michael Gannon
Bayshore Middle School/Middletown Township Public Schools, Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Twitter: @Gannonball

picture of david lockhart

David Lockhart
Kennesaw State Iteach Center, Marietta, Georgia
Twitter: @bigguyinabowtie

picture of suzanna guidi

Suzanne Guidi
Juan de Anza Elementary School/Wiseburn School District, Los Angeles, California
Twitter: @suzanne_guidi

And these are the ambassadors that made this year so special:

Sedley Abercrombie, Davidson County Schools, Denton, North Carolina
Kealii Akina, Kamehameha Schools, Keaau, Hawaii
Christine Archer-Davison, Cherokee Trail High School, Aurora, Colorado
Jennifer Auten, Montclaire Elementary School/Cupertino Union School District, Los Altos, California
Freyja Bergthorson, Loudoun County Public Schools (Seneca Ridge Middle), Sterling, Virginia
Ross Berman, MS 217, Rockville Centre, New York
Stephanie Berry, Basic High School, Henderson, Nevada
Bonnie Birdsall, Williston School District, Williston, Vermont
Randall Black, Putnam County Schools, Huntington, West Virginia
Lewis Bobby, Huntington Middle School, Warner Robins, Georgia
Jamey Boelhower, Ideas for Education/Central Community College Grand Island, Hastings, Nebraska
David Boxer, The Blake School, Hopkins, Minnesota
Megan Bright, Lillian Schumacher Elementary, Liberty, Missouri
Patricia Brown, Ladue School District, St. Louis, Missouri
Allison Bugge, Garfield Middle School, Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Lisa Butler, Hershey Middle School, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Edward Chen, The Nueva School, San Francisco, California
Christi Collins, Wise Primary School, Wise, Virginia
Wheatley Davis, Warren Consolidated Schools, Livonia, Michigan
James Denby, Vancouver, Canada
Brian Dino, Denver Public Schools, Denver, Colorado
Jeff Downing, Millard Elementary School/Fremont USD, Fremont, California
Jacey Erickson, Carrington Public Schools, Carrington, North Dakota
Amy Everhart, Liberty-Perry Schools, Selma, Indiana
Jonathan Fichter, St. Patrick's Episcopal Day School, Washington, D.C.
Terry Frady, Palmetto High School, Williamston, South Carolina
Ginann Franklin, Currey Ingram Academy, Franklin, Tennessee
Hollie Gabriel, USD 345, Topeka, Kansas
Laura Ganley, Liberty Elementary School, Fairfax, Virginia
Michael Gannon, Bayshore Middle School/Middletown Township Public Schools, Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Sarah Glatz, Memorial Middle School, South Portland, Maine
Suzanne Guidi, Juan de Anza Elementary School/Wiseburn School District, Los Angeles, California
Eva Harvell, Pascagoula-Gautier School District, Pascagoula, Mississippi
Jenna Houser, Lillian Mason Elementary School, Davison, Michigan
Hayley Hutchinson, USD 260 Derby, Derby, Kansas
Ashley Jahraus, Saint Clement School, Chicago, Illinois
Adrienne Jitta, Jitta Bug Learning Center, North Miami, Florida
Jennifer Keene, Legend Elementary/Newark City Schools, Newark, Ohio
Miriam Klein, Cornell School District, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Denis Kogan, District 75 Citywide Programs, Brooklyn, New York
Robert Lane, Springfield Senior High/Junior High, Akron, Ohio
Jennifer Lason, Morristown-Beard School, South Orange, New Jersey
Kim Lelek, International School of Zug and Luzern, Baar, Switzerland
Jessica Lemmo, Monarch Academy, Baltimore, Maryland
Eileen Lennon, MS72 Catherine and Count Basie, Jamaica, New York
Bobby Lewis, Houston County Board of Education, Warner Robins, Georgia
David Lockhart, Kennesaw State Iteach Center, Marietta, Georgia
Suzy Lolley, Cherokee County Schools, Acworth, Georgia
Kristen Magyar, Highland Falls Fort Montgomery Central School District, Highland Falls, New York
Erin Marone, Dayton Avenue/Eastport-South Manor, Farmingville, New York
Susan Maynor, Epic Elementary/Liberty Public Schools, Kansas City, Missouri
Melissa McDonald, Flower Hill ES - Montgomery County Public Schools, Gaithersburg, Maryland
Kathleen McDonough, Winnetka Public Schools, Winnetka, Illinois
Paul Murray, Portage Public Schools, Portage, Michigan
Thomas Mussoline, University School of Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Dion Norman, Canadian International School, Singapore, Singapore
Michelle Norman, Lebanon School District, Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Dana Oliver, North Allegheny School District, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Darlene Painter, Shivela Middle School/Murrieta Valley Unified School District, San Jacinto, California
Mike Pelletier, CIS, Singapore, Singapore
Carrie Petkiewich, Gill St. Bernard's, Gladstone, New Jersey
Margaret Powers, The Episcopal Academy, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Ruby Redona, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama, Honolulu, Hawaii
JB Reynolds, Eagle Ridge Middle School, Ashburn, Virginia
Jennifer Scheffer, Burlington Public Schools, Bedford, New Hampshire
Rich Senatore, North Elementary/Monongalia County Schools, Morgantown, West Virginia
Hanna Shekhter, Brauser Maimonides Academy, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Rylan Smith, Trinity Preparatory School, Winter Park, Florida
Art Spencer, Arthur Jacobsen Elementary School, Auburn, Washington
Bernadette Trammell, Camey Elementary/Lewisville ISD, The Colony, Texas
Margaret Van Ryckeghem, Ursuline Academy, New Orleans, Louisiana
Julie Williams, Willard School, Sanford, Maine
Jessica Winstanley, Portage Public Schools, Portage, Michigan
Rachelle Wooten, Fort Bend ISD, Fresno, Texas
Ian Yates, CMS Community School, Denver, Colorado
Julie York, South Portland High School, South Portland, Maine

​​​​Because it was so successful, we are expanding the ambassador program for next year, but only slightly. This is, indeed, the cream of the crop.

Thank you, ambassadors, for all  the hard work! You represented Common Sense with integrity, style, and expertise, and we appreciate it!